Confronting my Demon (Princess)

I hate cliffhangers.

Actually, that’s not really true. I love cliffhangers when I can anticipate what’s going to happen next and get excited to  buy the next in the series when I know it’ll ultimately wrap up in a satisfying manner.

I ended book two of my Demon Princess series on a cliffhanger — or, to be more specific, on a note that set up lots of fun that I had planned for the books to follow. This was a mistake. Even though, based on the feedback I received, readers loved the books, the sales were just not enough for the publisher to maintain their enthusiasm past book two. I was emotionally invested in this series and devastated (yes, devastated!!) that I wouldn’t get the chance to continue on with it.

Even now, over a year since REIGN CHECK came out, I receive several emails every week and comments on my Facebook page asking what’s up with the status of the series and the noticeably missing book three — some confused, some sad, and some downright angry (!!!). It makes me cringe every single time since I feel so incredibly helpless to do anything about it except repeat that “these things happen” and “I’m sorry”…

…but then I suddenly remembered that I’m not that helpless!

I already know what’s going to happen next for Nikki and her friends. And I know that there are quite a few readers who are very interested, too.

SO I’M WRITING IT!!!

THANK YOU to all the readers who’ve contacted me to share their love of the first two books. Some have even told me they never liked to read until they picked up a Demon Princess book; that it sparked their love of books and reading — this is probably the biggest compliment a writer can get!! You’re the reason I’m going to keep going. I was ready to walk away totally and not write any more about Nikki, since I was so disappointed with what had happened. But you guys…you’re very stubborn and wouldn’t take no for an answer! You are all awesome!

I tried to figure out how to wrap everything up in one more book, making it a trilogy to keep things nice and easy (for me, that is). Alas, it’s impossible. I originally envisioned the series as six books so there’s a lot of ground left to cover.

Now I envision it as a quadrilogy — four books total. And I am hereby committing myself to writing the last two books and publishing them myself so I can get some closure for myself and for my amazing and loyal readers.

REIGN FALL (DP #3) and REIGN STORM (DP #4), both full-length novels, will be jam-packed full of awesomeness and answer all the questions left dangling after the first two books.

The books will be available as ebooks — through Kindle, Nook, Kobo, etc. And print versions will be available through CreateSpace, which you can easily order online or through many bookstores. The books won’t be available on bookstore shelves like my previous titles, but they will be available.

As far as release dates… I plan to release REIGN FALL in January 2012 — which isn’t very far off at all! I’m finished writing it, but it still needs to be edited, proofread, and formatted. REIGN STORM will follow sometime after that, but not too long after. I’m writing these books in my spare time, since my first priority is, and always will be, my contracted books. But keep an eye on my website and my Facebook page for updates on my progress….and I’ll post the back cover blurb for REIGN FALL as soon as I write it up.

Plus, if you want to, please “like” the brand new official Demon Princess Facebook Page I’ve set up. This is where I’ll be posting blurbs, book quotes, polls, fun facts, and exclusive news about everything to do with Nikki’s world and future adventures.

As you can see, I’ve already designed the covers (click on pics to see them bigger), which I think rock and really give the kind of vibe I always wanted for this series.

I hope you’re as excited about this decision as I am. I think Nikki deserves to have the rest of her story told. And I can’t wait for you to get the chance to read it!

Until then, happy reading!

Michelle xoxo

P.S. If you’re a YA book reviewer with an established blog and you’re interested in reviewing REIGN FALL when it’s available (it would be provided as an ebook ARC), please email me and let me know! Thank you!!!

42 comments

  1. OMG!!! This is soo awesome!! I was so sad when I thought the series had stopped. And I love the new covers!!! So awesome, and so glad I decided to get a Kobo!! Cannot wait to see what happens!!!

  2. Omg! Yes i am so happy i read ur books last year and felt destroyed wen u said u probably couldnt continue the series! I am soooooooooo happy finally i can give the books to my sis to read i can gaurentee she will be as hooked as i am thank you:)

  3. Oh my god I’m so excited by this!!! Can’t wait! And I’ll definitely be sending an email your way for an ARC. You’ve made my day with this news 😀

  4. I’m so excited!! I love this series and was so upset when I learned that you weren’t going to be contracted to do any more. I even made a petition with my friends to send to your publisher to continue the series haha! As you know, that didn’t work, so I am overjoyed to know you’ll be doing it yourself! And the covers rock by the way.

  5. YESSSSSS! OMG, That’s AWESOME! Best news I’ve had in a long time! I was so shocked to know you wouldn’t be able to continue the series because of the publisher… 😦 .

    But… I loved the books, so I decided to hold on to your word when you said you would do your best to find a way to finish the series no matter what. :mrgreen: Now you’ve lived up to your best self and we are OH SO GRATEFUL!!!

    I love the new covers, btw, and I totally agree with Ann Garniss; the girl reminds me of Alona Tal. 😛 Beautiful.

    Thank You, Michelle!! YOU ARE. THE BEST.

  6. Wow thank you so much! I’ve always hoped that you decided to finish the series. Can’t wait to read them! You are an amazing writer

  7. Thank you soooo much for doing this for your fans! I truly think it’s awesome.

    Time for me to get en e-reader then. 🙂

  8. WooHoo!!! I was so upset when I read the last one and I wanted to know what would happen next. I’m sooo happy you are continuing the books just for your fans. You are one of my favourite authors! 😀

    1. Probably not. They’re going to be self-published. I don’t think libraries stock self-published books, but you can always ask your library to purchase a copy — they just might!

  9. I just finished reading the second book and only stumbled upon the series a few weeks ago. I happily admit, I love it! Now I’m glad I looked to see if the series would continue.

    Thank you!

  10. thank you I HAVE BEEN WAITNG FOR THE NEW BOOK TO COME OUT THANK YOU ! your book was the first book i ever read i’m not the girl who reads book but i was going to new york and we were flying there so my mom told me to buy a book well she was finding one for her self and i found your book i was in love with your book i read both of them in a month and i went back to the book store to get the third to find there wasn’t one and i was mad because i loved the two book’s so to HEAR 😀 THIS IT’S AWSOME THANK YOU ! ❤

  11. omg omg yes yes yes yes im so excited… the first book i read of yours was bitten smitten and for a long time i didn’t even know you had written more… im still new at this whole reading thing something to do with it being mandatory in high school and then getting out i found hmmmm i can actually enjoy reading 🙂 anyway… i just finished reign check and was searching to see if there had been any new releases… i did find there is a 5 book to the immortality bites series so at least i have something to keep me busy until these last two are available… thank you so much for the great books and encouragement to keep on reading

  12. I loved your books Michelle. i just could not stop reading the. They are sooo good i can see them becoming into a movie! :mrgreen: Thannk you for not giving up ❗

  13. I just read both of them in two days so I’m very excited about the next one being in January. I’m also glad that you will self publish the end of the series, keeps me from being left hanging!

  14. YAY YAY YAY I’m so happy your finshing the series, I kept going back reading the first two to level down some of me antciness. I was so sad when I heard that there would be no other books. 😥 But not there is so…. I’m already planning on pre-ordering so i can get it the same day it comes out. Hurray I know book 3 and 4 are gonna be a hit. :mrgreen:

  15. 😀 Finally! every single time, my friends ask me what book i am reading. I always say i really want to read the third book of demon princess. Its a hectic book……….omg so cute romance. I wish my life was like that. I am so into it and i hope the story never finishes because its so good to be true. Thanks for continuing it on. XOX
    CAN’T WAIT TO READ ❤ rate it 5 stars! 🙂

  16. Just finished Reign Fall and I have to say I LOVED it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can’t wait for book four. I’m already thinking of how its possible going to end. 😀 I giving it a 5 out of 5 stars. LOVE THIS SERIES.

  17. Oh, my gosh, Michelle, I’m so very proud of you! Way to stick up for your readers and what they want!

    I saw a question above about self-published books being in libraries, and in answer to that, yes! All of my self-published books are in libraries. You probably know this already, but in CreateSpace, when choosing distribution channels, be sure to enroll your books in all of the Expanded Distribution options (there are three). In 6 to 8 weeks, readers will be able to go into libraries and request them.

    Let me know if you’d like any assistance on this self-publication journey. I’d absolutely love to give you tips and pointers on how to make it easier. I’m seriously really excited for you!

  18. Just picked up my demon princess books to re read for the millionth time and thought I’d check to see any updates on a 3rd book and I’m so excited to see there is going to be not one but two more! Now my demon princess series will feel complete on my bookshelf with my other series!

  19. I really really REALLY LIKED THE BOOK!I’m so god-freaking glad that you have decided to publish the rest of the 2 books !GOOD JOB!:-D

  20. Gasp! I just stopped by and learned about the Demon Princess sequels. That made my day. I’m a huge fan of the series Michelle and so excited to continue with it. Heading over to amazon now for book 3. Thanks for doing this for the fans! I hate cliffhangers too! 🙄

  21. I love the demon princess,
    please could you tell me, when i can read the forth book?

    I am dangling on a rope… waiting for the end of the storry.

    I like it, that the books are not too long and are really interesting. I don’t have to skip pages.

    with best regards
    petra from Europe

  22. OMG please I know the fourth book is out so can you put up a link to where i can get it like on kindle or at a store ?? THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! ❤ YOUR BOOKS SO MUCH happy to hear your doing it yourelf!

  23. Petra and Day: Book four is not finished yet. I hope it won’t be too much longer and believe me, I’ll be posting the links on this site when it is done. Thanks for your patience! xoxo

  24. Please tell me it’s soon !?! I love the story and have insult been staring at book 3 for like over a year waiting for book four !

    You really should be proud of this series it’s wonderful and I can’t wait for book four !!

    Thank you xxx

Leave a comment